On 27 October, Stolen Recordings released an expanded version of East India Youth’s TOTAL STRIFE FOREVER which will include a fifty-four minute soundtrack for the 1916 silent film ’20,000 Leagues Under The Sea‘, directed by Stuart Paton

Mr. Doyle explains: “I was initially approached by people who were running the film section at Bestival 2013 to perform a live soundtrack. The film is a groundbreaking piece of cinematography, featuring as it does the first underwater sequences in a motion picture. The atmosphere and darkness of the underwater shots were a good fit for my general style, and I’d long been waiting to soundtrack a film so I jumped at the chance. My score is actually to a special edit of the film provided by the festival, and I performed it live to an audience of about six people at half past midnight immediately after playing my usual set in a different tent.

Most of the work on the score was completed around the time I was doing the final mixing on TOTAL STRIFE FOREVER, so one of the pieces and quite a few of the effects I used on the album found their way onto the soundtrack as well. There are plenty of other departures here stylistically though. It was a big challenge for me creating this soundtrack, and while it is far from perfect, I do feel it’s a good companion piece to TOTAL STRIFE FOREVER.”

The expanded version of TSF will be released in a double CD edition and expanded digital download. ‘20,000 Leagues Under The Sea’ will also be available as a stand alone CD and Digital Download, for those who already have the album.

You can listen to an excerpt below

[Sign up here to the mailing list for exclusives that we don't announce on social media]